“Body & Soul” feat. Jaen Ching Ng

This exhibition features six contemporary artworks by legal counsel, Jaen Ching Ng. Jaen’s influences range from everyday life encounters to dreams and imagination. Her bold use of colour, expressive painterly strokes with heavy shadows bring to mind a lively artistic spirit waiting to emerge.

The Heart Feels What The Eyes Can't See

THE HEART FEELS WHAT THE EYES CAN’T SEE. 36″ x 40″, acrylic painting on canvas, S$950

 

Artist Statement

Rarity in ornamentation appeals to me. Anything and everything around me inspires me. What then translates onto the canvas is a mix of reality and a touch of fantasy. 

The fact that I am self-taught, I believe, has contributed significantly to my style of work. There is no muse, no boundaries, no rules. There can be shadow without light, there can be light without shadow. 

Freedom of expression is the key to my work and not being guided by reasoned deliberation which, in my mind, will strangle any imagination and creativity of one’s soul. 

This exhibition is driven by my fascination with the anatomy of the human body and to challenge myself to paint my emotion through it. I cannot express myself, my emotion, my state of mind any better than through the most powerful language we know – the body.

– Jaen Ching Ng

Body & Soul will open with a private reception on 31 July at 6pm. Dishes from SPRMRKT’s new Happy Hour Bar Menu will be served and a wine tasting session will be conducted by former Les Amis sommelier Zachary Tay.

Artworks are for sale and a portion of the proceeds will go to a non-profit organisation or charity.

OPENING RECEPTION
31st July, 6pm – 8pm

EXHIBITION PERIOD
1st Aug to 30th Sep 2014

TIME
Mon & Tue: 8am to 9pm
Wed to Fri: 8am to 11pm
Sat & Sun: 9am to 6pm

VENUE
SPRMRKT
2 McCallum Street
Singapore 069043

Leave a Reply

